Permanent Faculty

Brian D. Boe Professor
Ph.D.  Yale University 1982
Representation theory of algebraic groups and Lie algebras
Leonard Chastkofsky Associate Professor
Ph.D.  Yale University 1978
Representations of finite groups
William A. Graham Professor
Ph.D.  Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1992
Geometry and representation theory
Daniel Krashen Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin 2001
Non-commutative algebra, algebraic geometry
Daniel K. Nakano Distinguished Research Professor
Ph.D.  Yale University 1990
Representation and cohomology theory of algebraic groups
Lisa Townsley Academic Professional
Ph.D. Northwestern University 1987
Cohomology of finite groups

Emeritus Faculty

Jon F. Carlson Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.  University of Virginia 1967
Group representations and cohomology
Kenneth D. Johnson Professor
Ph.D.  University of California, Berkeley 1968
Representation theory of Lie groups

Postdoctoral Associates

Amber Russell Postdoctoral Researcher/Part-time Instructor
Ph.D. Louisiana State University 2012
Geometry, representation theory and Lie theory

The algebra group has a vibrant training program for graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.
The algebra group has sponsored three NSF Postdoctoral Fellows: Wayne Wheeler (1996-98), David Hemmer (2001-03) and Jonathan Kujawa (2003-07). If you interested in applying to the Department of Mathematics at UGA for graduate studies or a postdoc, please do not hestitate to contact one of our faculty members.


Students and Postdoctoral Fellows in the Algebra Group


Ph.D Student Year of Degree Ph.D Advisor Post Graduation Placement
Stephen Kuhn 1979 Carlson University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
Deborah Sherman 1994 Carlson Truman State University
Chuang Peng 1995 Carlson Morehouse College
Peteris Daugulis 1998 Carlson
Jason Whitt 1998 Carlson Illinois Wesleyan University
Desire (Gilles) Gnacadja 2000 Benson MATRA Systems, Inc.
Mucheng Zhang 2000 Carlson Computer Science, UGA
Blake Hindman 2002 Benson Georgia College
Graham Matthews 2004 Carlson Amgen Corporation
Bobbe Cooper 2008 Nakano University of Minnesota
Kenyon Platt 2008 Boe Brigham Young University
Caroline Wright 2008 Nakano University of Arizona
Irfan Bagci 2009 Nakano University of California, Riverside
Wenjing Li 2012 Graham Concordia College Alabama
Brandon Samples 2012 Graham Georgia College
Ben Wyser 2012 Graham University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Nham Ngo 2012 Nakano University of Wisconsin, Stout
Stacy Musgrave 2013 Krashen Arizona State University
Kate Thompson 2014 Krashen Davidson College
Theresa Brons Nakano
Andrew Talian Nakano
William Hardesty Nakano
Maren Turbow Krashen
Patrick McFaddin Krashen


Postdoctoral Fellow Years at UGA Current Position
Gordana Todorov 1978-79 Professor, Northeastern University
Wayne Wheeler 1996-98 Center for Communications Research, La Jolla
Luis Valero-Elizondo 1998-00 Professor, U. Nac. Aut. de Mexico
Markus Hunziker 2000-04 Associate Professor, Baylor University
David Hemmer 2001-03 Professor and Chair, SUNY Buffalo
Jo Jang Hyun 2002-04 Assistant Professor,  Gyeongsang National University
Nadia Mazza 2003-06 Lecturer, Lancaster University
Jonathan Kujawa 2003-07 Associate Professor, University of Oklahoma
Emilie Wiesner 2005-07 Assistant Professor, Ithaca College
Victor Kreiman 2006-09 Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin, Parkside
Benjamin Jones 2007-10 Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin, Stout
Christopher Drupeski 2009-12 Assistant Professor, DePaul University
Niles Johnson 2009-12 Assistant Professor, Ohio State, Newark
Amber Russell 2012- Postdoctoral Fellow, UGA